how do you shoot fireworks?

I photographed fireworks for the first time this past July 4th. I knew I would only have a 15-minute window to get a shot in time for our deadline, so I made sure to figure out my settings beforehand. After conferring with my Tribune colleague Scott Strazzante, and researching on the Internet, I decided on a base setting: ISO 100, f/8 at 1-2 seconds. You could also experiment with the bulb setting since each firework has a different start-to-finish explosion time. The focus should be set almost at infinity and make sure you use a tripod.

The picture at left is shot at f/9 at 1 second, followed by a frame shot at f/8 at 1.6 seconds and lastly a frame shot at f/8 at 2 seconds.

©Keri Wiginton/Chicago Tribune

Leave a Reply

