The 5-minute portrait

By: Keri Wiginton

Apr 28 2012

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.5
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark IV

I recently purchased an Elinchrom set so I could have a portable, reliable lighting kit. I don’t regret the purchase, but I find that half the time I don’t have enough time to actually set it up. That brings me to the 5-minute-portrait. This most often is the time limit set by PR handlers for celebrities, but businessmen can also put you in this time crunch. When I walked up to meet Kevin Newell, global chief brand officer for McDonald’s, I was told “you can have 10 minutes, but can you do it in 5?” Since the photo was for the Business section, I quickly looked in the on-site McDonald’s restaurant for some kind of branding. Luckily for me, there was a red wall with the words chicken and nuggets on it located directly next to a wall of windows. Natural light is always better anyway.

© Keri Wiginton/Chicago Tribune

Leave a Reply

