Bowling State Champions

By: Keri Wiginton

Apr 10 2012

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:2500
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark IV

Before this, I’d never shot a bowling championship.  So, when I was assigned the IHSA girls bowling state championship held at Cherry Bowl Lanes in Rockford, Ill, I didn’t know what to expect. The scene was unbelievably crowded. Picture a regular bowling alley, but with bleachers. Lots and lots of parent-filled bleachers. Also, none of the bowlers have numbers identifying them. After a few attempts at mediocre action shots, I positioned myself behind the two teams most likely to win. I’m always drawn to emotion, so my favorite shot ended up being this one…when the girls from Andrew High School realized their score won them the title.

© Keri Wiginton/Chicago Tribune

Leave a Reply

