The face of new poverty

By: Keri Wiginton

Oct 03 2011

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

A couple of weeks ago I got to spend a few days with a formerly wealthy family who now get by on food stamps and charity.  The story aimed at showing the new face of poverty. The man pictured was a former banker pulling in six figures until his job was eliminated and then was unable to find steady work for the past three years. He currently takes odd jobs and works at a local church doing custodial work a couple of days a week.

The subject called to thank me for how I handled the story and the respect I gave him and his family, but I can’t think this family enough for allowing me into their home and giving me the chance to show their story.

© Keri Wiginton/Chicago Tribune

One comment on “The face of new poverty”

  1. I remember the story and the photos. Well done.

    Jack


Leave a Reply

