Yay, we won!

By: Keri Wiginton

Aug 28 2011

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:2500
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark IV

I’ll admit it. I dread shooting high school volleyball. It’s always in a gym. There’s never enough light and I’m not a fan of artificially lighting sports. Some people might say that means I’m lazy, but I feel like it changes the mood of the game. Plus, I know the athletes don’t care for having a flash go off every 5 minutes. When I was assigned this high school championship, I was determined to get more than a couple usable shots. So, I went armed with a positive attitude……and a 300/2.8 on my new company-issued Canon 1D-Mk IV. I climbed to the highest point in the gym so I could get the cleanest background and I tried to follow the top players in the game. The focus on the Mk IV is sharp and shooting at 3200 ISO let me set the shutter speed at 800 (meaning less blurry action shots). I was really impressed with how good the quality of the images were even with the high ISO.

I’m a sucker for images with emotion, so the picture up top is my favorite shot. You can find more images from the game here.

© Keri Wiginton/Chicago Tribune

One comment on “Yay, we won!”

  1. I find shooting volleyball infuriating also for the reasons you cite. Thanks very much for the tips on the ISO and shutter speed. I’ll give it a try.

    Jack


Leave a Reply

