Performance Art

By: Keri Wiginton

Jul 12 2011

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:640
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

I was recently sent to the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago to photograph a living installation by Eiko & Koma, who are Japanese performance artists both in their 60s, for the Chicago Tribune’s Arts section. The piece, “Naked,” provided a few obstacles. I was told there would be plenty of light (there wasn’t) and plenty of time to get exactly what I needed (meaning 30 minutes in the PR world). The piece consists of the couple slowly moving their bodies into different meditative positions, all while nude. I had to get publishable pictures for the paper, meaning no nudity. Since I knew I had a time restriction, I looked to see where the light would hit their faces and not their bodies. Then I picked a spot in the corner, crouched down and waited.

© Keri Wiginton/Chicago Tribune

Leave a Reply

