Handstand

By: Keri Wiginton

May 14 2011

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:16mm
ISO:1000
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

My editor originally suggested I photograph a few girls who commute to their gymnastics training from at least an hour away during their afternoon practice. I wasn’t really excited about what I got from the first practice (especially since the main girls in the story were out sick), so I decided I would actually ride with the athletes on their commute, which starts at 5 a.m on a Saturday. After getting some pretty good shots involving sleepy 15 year olds and a sunrise, I decided to stick around for the early morning practice even though I was pretty certain I’d gotten the shots I wanted to use (especially since lighting in the gym was atrocious and I was politely asked not to use a flash). I was glad I stayed when I witnessed the group of girls doing their 10-minute handstand exercise. This quirky image ended up running 6 columns as the lead shot. So, the age-old lesson of get there early and stay late (or at least later than you think you should) still holds true.

© Keri Wiginton/Chicago Tribune

Leave a Reply

